28th Seoul Music Awards Winners and Livestream | HaB Korea.net

28th Seoul Music Awards Winners and Livestream

Seoul Music Awards BTS

The year 2018’s performance of stars with colorful decorations on the music scene, ’28th Seoul Music Awards’ mobile voting has concluded, the winners of the ‘Hallyu Special Award’ and the ‘Popularity Award’ were decided. SHINee won the ‘Popularity Award’, while EXO won the ‘Hallyu Special Award’.

Book your Seoul Music Awards ticket

28th Seoul Music Awards Winners and Livestream

The 28th High1 Seoul Music Awards is the place where the music industry will be reckoned in 2018. The main event will be held Tuesday at Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul for about 3 hours and 30 minutes starting at 6:50 p.m.

The Seoul Music Awards has the prestigious reputation of the most famous, historical and popular K-POP festival in Korea, nicknamed as ‘Korean Grammy Awards’. Seoul Music Awards has been grown up as the best awards for the K-POP fans to want to watch the most.

The Seoul Music Awards is an awards show founded in 1990 that is presented annually by Sports Seoul for outstanding achievements in the music industry in South Korea.

See Also:   BTS' 'Dynamite' ranks No. 2 on Billboard singles chart

Seoul Music Awards is where all the teams that shine on the music scene in 2018 will be participating. Most of all, the target directly reflects the fan sentiment that was confirmed through mobile voting. The mobile voting sector, in which fans participate, is divided into the main prize, the Rookie Award, the Popularity Award and the Hallyu Special Award.

28th Seoul Music Awards Winners and Livestream

The most competitive sectors among fans were the popularity awards held by domestic polls and the Hallyu Special Award, which is held by overseas. While the percentage of mobile voting reflects 30 percent of the original and rookie awards, the popularity awards are 100 percent with domestic votes and the Hallyu Special Award with overseas votes.

28th Seoul Music Awards Winners and Livestream

Popularity Award by voting local Korean fans goes to SHINee topped the list with a final score of 51.07 percent. SHINee released their sixth album “The Story of Light” to mark the 10th anniversary of their debut in 2018. Which makes that SHINee gets the Popularity Award for the five times so far. Previously, SHINee won the Popularity Award in 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2016. SHINee member Tae-min also won two Popularity Award trophies in 2014 and 2017.

See Also:   Momoland's 4th EP to hit K-pop summer season

EXO ranked top on the list with 59.03 percent in the “Hallyu Special Award” category, which is selected through voting by overseas fans outside Korea. It is the third time that EXO received the Hallyu Special Award since 2015 and 2017. EXO continued its global popularity by playing ‘Tempo’ and ‘Love Shot’ last year.

The 28th Seoul Music Awards will take place at the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul on January 15 at 6:50 p.m. KST. The awards show, which will be hosted by Super Junior’s Kim Heechul, Kim So Hyun, and Shin Dong Yup, will also be broadcast live on KBS Drama, KBS Joy, KBS W, and Bbangya TV.

28th Seoul Music Awards Winners and Livestream

About the author

HaB Korea 해브코리아 We are tourism people, we are going to make you happy in Korea! It's your trip, HaB it your way.
Subscribe to Magazine HaB Korea via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our online Magazine HaB Korea and receive updates on the latest articles, events and special offers!

Thank you for subscribing. Please check your email and confirm your subscription.

Something went wrong.

Send this to a friend