Samcheong Park is the first officially designated park in Seoul, and still among the more popular areas for a stroll in the Samcheong-dong area. Located on the outskirts of Mt. Bugak, this park was the first officially-designated park in Korea (1940). The name Samcheong (literally “three blue”) refers to the three highest ideals in Taoism that men can attain. Surrounded by cherry blossoms planted long ago, the park becomes crowded with tourists every April when the trees are in full bloom. The park offers many amenities: badminton and tennis courts, a playground, a snack bar, and a multi-purpose rest area.
This park is busiest in April for its cherry blossoms, but many locals and tourists visit year-round. The park has a library as well as a learning center for children and sports facilities.
Located around 500 meters to the north from Samcheong Park is Malbawi, a popular spot to look over central Seoul. Major hiking trails of Samcheong Park are connected to the trail, which goes along Seoul’s city walls, where visitors can also enjoy a view of Seoul while hiking.
Major hiking trails winding through Samcheong Park connect the park to the Mt Bugak Seoul Fortress Wall Hiking Trail, a mineral spring spot in Seongbuk-dong, and Waryong. While hiking, visitors can encounter Malbawi, an excellent spot chosen by City of Seoul where they can overlook Seoul at a glance.
Malbawi Historic Site Visit Program, run by Jongno-go Office (Seoul), provides children and adults with the opportunity to learn about natural ecology in Samcheong Park and the history of Seoul Fortress Wall from designated guides. Through well-developed roads around Samcheong-dong, visitors can easily move from Samcheong-dong to Seongbuk-dong. Currently, Samcheong Tunnel near the park connects the two localities.
The trail that runs by the city walls leads to Sukjeongmun, the historic northern gate. The gate, which was restored in 1976, has been open to the public since 2006.
Source: The Korea Herald/Visit Korea