UNESCO has announced several new World Heritage sites, and among them are seven Buddhist temples in the mountains of South Korea. The country now has 13 heritage sites.

Seven Korean Buddhist temples added to World Heritage list

The UNESCO World Heritage Committee, in a meeting in Bahrain on Saturday, chose seven Korean mountain temples, including Tongdosa, Buseoksa, and Magoksa. South Korea handed in the application for those in February of last year.

See Also:   Deoksugung Stone Wall Path to Open in October

Seven Korean Buddhist temples added to World Heritage list

The UNESCO committee’s 21 member nations gave their unanimous approval. It was a pleasant surprise for Korea, where many had expected only four of the seven sites would be listed. A separate organization, the International Council on Monuments and Sites, had suggested some of them lack historical significance.

See Also:   A 'Mobile prayer room' is created for Muslim tourists

Source: Arirang News

Request your Korea Private Tour

About the author

HaB Korea 해브코리아 We are tourism people, we are going to make you happy in Korea! It's your trip, HaB it your way.
Subscribe to Magazine HaB Korea via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our online Magazine HaB Korea and receive updates on the latest articles, events and special offers!

Thank you for subscribing. Please check your email and confirm your subscription.

Something went wrong.

Send this to a friend